Posted by: jonkatz | June 14, 2009

Blogging is hard!

I never realized how hard blogging is.

The hardest part about starting a blog is choosing the name. And then getting the name you want. I wanted to call my blog Random Bits — this has enough of a crypto/TCS flavor, yet is also broad enough to encompass posts about, well, other random stuff. (I don’t plan to limit myself to writing only about crypto.) But randombits.wordpress.com was taken. So was randombit.wordpress.com. Even pseudorandombits.wordpress.com was taken (by someone with no connection to crypto, as far as I could tell). The same names are taken on blogspot, too. I ended up just using my name, ho-hum.

If you are even thinking of writing a blog at some point, make sure to take your preferred name now.

Even before choosing a blog name, one has to choose a hosting site. I ended up going with wordpress because so many other math-heavy blogs (most recently, Lipton’s) seem to use it successfully; I would have used blogspot if they had my preferred name available. So far I don’t find the interface as easy to use as I thought it would be.

Then you find out you need to pick a theme. (Right now I’m using “ocean mist”.) Depending on the theme you choose, you must then find an image to put at the top. Just how much work is this supposed to be?!

Responses

  1. You can always try to register the domain; although those also seem to be taken.


Leave a Reply

Categories

