Posted by: jonkatz | October 9, 2009

Obama wins Nobel peace prize

I don’t want to discuss politics on this blog, but had to react to the news this morning.

Let me preface my remarks by saying that I am fairly liberal, voted for Obama, and still generally agree with his policies (though I am more sour on him than I was last November).

But giving him the Nobel peace prize?! Come on. This is a blatantly political decision, and an unjustifiable one at that. And if I, a liberal, can see that, one can only imagine what the reaction on the right will be. And it will be hard to blame them for the inevitable backlash…

Responses

  1. I would call myself very liberal (not just fairly), and I agree with you. On the other hand, at least he didn’t do anything detrimental to peace, unlike at least one previous recipient of the nobel peace prize.

    I worry this will be really bad for him politically (although of course it’s not his fault that he was chosen). Perhaps a smart move on his part would be to decline it?

  2. Perhaps a smart move on his part would be to decline it?

    That’s what others have suggested, too.

  3. I think many Americans underestimate how strongly people around the world felt about the previous administration’s policies and the direction the world was headed in. The notion of pre-emptive war, the discrediting of the UN, the lack of diplomacy, torture etc… was taken very seriously (much more than here) abroad — especially in Europe.

    I think Obama’s prize has to bee seen from this perspective. For many, the simple fact that Obama gives credence to diplomacy, that he initiated a dialogue with the Arab/Muslim world (the Cairo speech), stopped torture, respects the UN, is trying to wind down the Iraq war etc… is a huge deal.

    So I think the prize was given because many feel that Obama’s actions so far have helped the world reverse course on a path that was very dangerous.

  4. Much as I disliked the actions of the Bush administration, I don’t think awarding a prize to his successor as a slap in the face to Bush is the right thing to do.

  5. I don’t think awarding a prize to his successor as a slap in the face to Bush is the right thing to do.

    My point is that the prize was given for reversing policies set by Bush. While this can be viewed as a slap in the face to Bush, it does not mean that was the motivation for giving it.


Leave a Reply

Categories

